Creating my Tarot Journal

I’ve been playing with my tarot cards since Mother’s Day and am really enjoying them.  However, I feel like I’ve only stuck my toe into the vast sea that is Tarot.  I’ve been delving into the surface with the help of Pinterest, but a common suggestion that I have been stumbling upon is to create a Tarot Journal.

Oooo!  A journal! This should be right up my ally, right?  I’ve been putting it off for weeks now.  With the encouragement of the the New Moon this month to strengthen my spiritual practices, I finally dove in and began working on this project.

I am also FINALLY using this handmade notebook that I’ve been carrying around with me for over a decade (maybe even over two).  I always felt it was too pretty to use for regular journaling, but for this it just feels right.

I’ve completed the Major Arcana so far.  It was interesting.  I had read the book 78 Degrees of Wisdom a few months ago, and boy was that a LOT of info.  And I’ve been listening to the Biddy Tarot Podcast for a few weeks now.  Biddy Tarot is all about use your intuition to read the cards, while 78 Degrees was VERY VERY VERY detail oriented and specific.  However, with these two resources and my own self, I’ve been putting together something that I really like so far.

I start every page off with the story that I see in the card.  Here is the character, the focal point, the feelings that I get from the card in general.  If a symbol stands out then I note it, I ask questions in the stories too (like the people in the tower – did they jump voluntarily or were they thrown out?).  I could pull up 78 Degrees again, and note every symbol and detail and meaning of them all, but it’s okay to leave that for later discovery.  So I have my little story.  Then i have the number and any helpful insight about the number or astrology that is tied in with this card (planets or numbers).  Then I use the Biddy Tarot website for meaning because she has the most concise descriptions that I’ve found so far, and I like her podcast, so I like her blog.  In her descriptions she will go into symbols and whatnot, but I only note my overall strongest impressions.  What I want to know right now.  Again, later discovery will allow for delving.  I also note reversals.  It’s simple, there is a lot of white space on the page for later annotations.  So far I love it.

My process has been to look into the card and find the story.  Write that down and anything else that I know or notice.  Make a bullet style list of meanings and info.  Then move on to the next card.  I’ve been getting a lot more familiar with the Majors.  I don’t see a lot of them in my own readings.

I am starting the Minors today, and I am not sure how I want to do it.  Honestly, I was thinking about doing it by numbers rather than suits.  All the aces with their specific meanings, followed by the 2s instead of an entire suit followed by another entire suit.  I feel like there is power in the numbering as well as the suits, so looking at all of the 4s together could help me better understand them as a whole (and I’ll refer back to the Major 4s as well) and applying the nature of their suits.  We’ll see.  This part is making me the most nervous because I am not sure exactly how it will turn out or if I will be happy with this method.

 

But I am super excited about it.

Leave a Reply

